Cheat Day

It finally happened… cheat day. I was dreading it, to be honest. I have shared in the past about my fear of basically imploding if I get my hands on something yummy and eating myself right back into pain and weight gain. 

It has been 5 months of ruthless, hard-line, healthy eating. No deviations, no slip ups, no cheating, NOTHING!

Last night I decided to make some vegan cookie bars. “Can you have some?” my family asked. “Well, no, but maybe I will have just a bit.”  Guess what? It was just a bit. I didn’t put a bite in my mouth and turn into a Tanzanian devil, whirling across the rest of the pan with reckless abandon.

During the prep, I took a bite of the batter (a-MAZE-ing!!!) and enjoyed it thoroughly.  Once they came out of the oven I cut myself a small square and ended up giving half of it to my son because I was completely satisfied with just a few, small bites!

I didn’t take any pictures, since I honestly didn’t think I would really be able to have any at the time, so I will just share the recipe with you. 

Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars by Blissful Basil were absolutely amazing! My WHOLE family loved them. I used coconut sugar just like the recipe called for and Enjoy Life (vegan) chocolate chips. 
They came out of the oven ooey-gooey and so decadent. They are still really yummy cold, but nothing beats fresh from the oven, right?

I am really proud that I didn’t go crazy and lose my mind in proximity to a barely legal dessert. 

I also am aware that these will be a very rare treat, since they do contain sugar. But oh, what a treat!

Leave a Reply

