Ugly Bananas and Other Unlikely Treasures

Over ripe bananas are ugly. I hate they way they look, sitting there, speaking of excess and laziness on my part.

IMG_3268

Acknowledging them means feeling guilty for wasting food. Sometimes I would use them to make a loaf or two of banana bread. My family didn’t mind.

For a while I stopped buying bananas completely because it seemed most of them were going bad before we could get to them. Wasteful.

Now, I rejoice when I see the taletale dark spots of age blooming on my bananas.  They are perfect! So sweet and delicious. I chop them into chunks and freeze them, wrapped in parchment paper, waiting to be added to smoothies and recipes that need the sticky sweetness that only ugly bananas can provide.

Before, I was spoiled for choice when it came to sweet things. Candy, cakes, cookies, ice cream, you name it, we had it! Now, the only sweet things in my life come from the natural sweetness of fruit. I do not used refined sugar of any kind.  I don’t use maple syrup or molasses or even honey. What I once saw as disgusting, I now see the tremendous value.  (Hmmm, almost seems like a metaphor for life…)

Ice cream was almost always our weekly choice when it came to dessert. Friday night, our family would go out together and pick up something fun to share. We called it “Sugar Friday.” It was our night to indulge together and be rewarded for saying no to sweets during the rest of the week. Sugar Friday has been a little depressing the last few weeks.  Not any more!

Four words:  Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream”

It’s simple, really:

2 frozen bananas

1/4 c. nuts (I prefer walnuts and almonds, mixed)

1/4 c. almond milk (use more or less, depending on desired consistency)

2 T. Cocoa powder

Blend in high speed blender until smooth.

It is thick and creamy, like soft serve. It makes me feel like I am cheating, but in fact, I am treating myself to something oh so healthy! Hooray for dessert!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Ugly Bananas and Other Unlikely Treasures

Leave a Reply

