The Search for Balance

Balance. Such a simple principle, really. Google defines it as:

bal·ance
ˈbaləns/
noun: a condition in which different elements are equal or in the correct proportions.
verb: keep or put (something) in a steady position so that it does not fall.

Easy, right? Wrong. At least for me. My whole life has been a struggle to balance even simple things. If my house is clean and I’m exercising on a consistent basis, it’s almost a sure bet I haven’t flossed my teeth in a week.

I tend to be an all or nothing kind of girl.  I do things in a big way. No, really. Have you ever met anyone who broke their sternum with their own chin? Well, you have now! (Don’t ask. It’s a convoluted story consisting of a piano bench, a slick wood floor and a very poor habit on my part of climbing on things I have no business climbing on.) To this day, if I so much as ascend the bottom step of a ladder, everyone freezes and goes into hostage negotiation mode. “Step away from the ladder and no one gets hurt.”

That being said, whenever I start a project (or hobby, or interest, or cause or whatever…) I jump in with both feet and don’t surface until I am emotionally and physically spent. It makes for impressive results, but at a huge cost.

So now comes the true test for me: is this lifestyle sustainable, or will I crash and burn?

I am actually very optimistic, since this time it is for no other reason than I hate pain. If it’s just about weight-loss, it’s easy for me to talk myself right into a cheat day. There are no cheat days anymore. My body can’t take it.

I am making choices based on what I need to do, and not what I want to do. It can be fantastically hard, and occasionally downright depressing, but at least I no longer struggle with if I should have a bite, a piece, a taste… The answer is almost invariably NO!

So here is the balance part: it is not reasonable for me to live my life for however long I am given on this earth without ever enjoying a genuinely delicious dessert again. I had to find an answer.

So now, without further ado, I would like to introduce you to my MOST favorite sweet treat:

Almond Joy Energy Bites

To make an oil free version, I simply use Almond Butter instead of Coconut Oil.

IMG_3266

These are wholesome, healthy, and keep me on track to being pain free. They also taste like CANDY!

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

