The Power of Numbers

Why are numbers so powerful in our lives? They can influence you in ways you never thought possible, both good and bad.

Take the scale for instance. A higher number than you expect on that particular instrument of torture can send weeks of dedication and work spiraling down the toilet. Too many times in my life  I have given up completely because of gaining 2 pounds after losing 10 or even 20 pounds.  This is why this particular journey has nothing to do with weight loss (even though it is a beautiful and much needed side effect.). This time it is about health and being pain free.

That being said, do you have any idea how humbling it is to admit your weight on a platform that other people can, and will, see? Why does a number somehow make it worse? 225? Because saying it out loud will somehow make you think worse of me? Because if I didn’t say it out loud, my pants wouldn’t still be plus size? You wouldn’t be able to see my rolls and bulges?

But there is a flip side to those powerful numbers. A beautiful flip side. It is your friends. The power of numbers to encourage, support, cheer on and even join you in your battle.

I have an amazing husband who has gone vegan with me, for no other reason than he wants me to succeed and for my life to be easier.

I have an amazing sister who has also joined me in an effort to support and encourage me from afar (she lives 1,000 long miles away.)

I have friends who share their recipes as well as their struggles.

I have friends who rallied with me when The Old Spaghetti Factory removed spaghetti squash from its menu. They put it back on the menu on Saturdays at my local restaurant thanks to everyone who contacted them! 😘

Even the receptionist at my chiropractor’s office is cheering me on! She shared with me this amazing recipe that I have added into my weekly rotation. Oh, how delicious it is. Savory, crunchy, creamy, filling and oh so satisfying.

IMG_3260

Find the recipe here.

Once again, minor modifications were in order. I substituted chopped dates for the sugar in the roasted chickpeas and left out the oil, of course.  Hurry up and make it already!

Oh, and if you are one of those that I am blessed to call friend, thank you. You have no idea how much it means to me.

 

3 thoughts on “The Power of Numbers

Leave a Reply

